Table of contents:

MotoGP Indianapolis 2014: Ernest's chop
MotoGP Indianapolis 2014: Ernest's chop

Ale, Rest is over for everyone, the MotoGP World Championship is back and the second half of a season begins that will surely be remembered in the history of the World Cup for a long time. The tenth round of this season arrives and we move to Indianapolis, one of those North American circuits that has a lot of history behind it, but which is only the seventh time (in a row) that it will host a round of the Motorcycle World Championship.

In the catalog of circuits Yamaha / Honda-Honda / Yamaha (both ride, ride both) this Indianapolis is considered a Honda circuitDespite the fact that the first two times a World Cup race was held the victory was for Yamaha, in the last four seasons the highest box on the podium has been for a rider driving a Honda.

For now, and if no one remedies it, on the podium of MotoGP in Indianapolis there hasn't been a North American pilot since 2011. The last one was Ben Spies who finished third that year. In 2012 Colin Edwards finished 13th and in 2013 Nicky Hayden finished 9th. Of the current MotoGP grid, there are only five riders who have competed in the previous six races at Indianapolis, namely: Jorge Lorenzo, Andrea Dovizioso, Colin Edwards, Valentino Rossi and Dani Pedrosa. And of all of them Dani Pedrosa is the only one who has won twice (2010 and 2012) And Jorge Lorenzo is the only one who has been on the podium five times at this circuit.

Statistics of Marc Márquez

We are going to refresh a bit the statistics that Marc Márquez has already achieved this season and those that could be in sight this weekend.

  • Marc Márquez wears 77 points ahead of the second classified, if he continues to win all the races, he could be proclaimed world champion in Aragon regardless of what his rivals do.
  • Marc's victory in Germany was the 41st time he has been to the top of the podium in his sporting career. This makes him the 13th best driver of all time when it comes to victories. At the moment he is only one victory away from catching up with riders like Toni Mang and Max Biaggi.
  • The victory in Germany makes him the younger pilot (21 years and 146 days) to achieve nine successive victories in the premier class. The previous record belonged to Mike Hailwood at 24 years and 86 days and set it by winning the ninth race of twelve in a row he achieved in 1964.
  • Marc Márquez He has started from the front row of the starting grid in the last 21 MotoGP races, the last time he did not start from that line was at the Catalan GP last year when he started sixth.

  • In Germany Marc got his 15th victory in MotoGP, the same number as Álex Crivillé in his entire career.
  • Marquez is the first driver to have won nine consecutive races since the category was introduced in 2002. The last driver to win nine or more consecutive races was Mick Doohan who drove ten consecutive races in the 1997 500 season.
  • The one from Cervera is the first driver to win the first nine races of the premier class since Giacomo Agostini won the first ten races of 500 in the 1970 season. Agostini achieved this in three consecutive seasons from 1968 to 1970.
  • There is only five drivers who have won nine or more races in a premier class season: Mick Doohan - 12 victories in 1997 and nine in 1994, Valentino Rossi - 11 victories in 2001, 2002 and 2005 and nine victories in 2003, 2004 and 2008, Giacomo Agostini - 11 victories in 1972 and 10 victories in 1968, 1969 and 1970, Casey Stoner - 10 victories in 2007 and 2011, and Jorge Lorenzo - nine victories in 2010. If Marc wins one more race in 2014 he will become the Spanish rider with the most victories in a season in the premier class of all time.

  • There is only four drivers who have won nine or more races successively in the history of the World Cup, Giacomo Agostini, Mike Hailwood, John Surtees and Mick Doohan.

To detoxify some of these dizzying statistics, it should be noted that Spanish pilots are at just two wins from reaching 500 and just one win from reaching 100 in the premier class. And that the first was achieved by Álex Crivillé in Assen 1992.

Victories of Spanish riders in 500 / MotoGP

Share MotoGP Indianapolis 2014: Ernest's chop

  • Flipboard
  • E-mail



  • Indianapolis
  • Indianapolis GP
  • Moto2
  • Moto3
  • Ernest's chop
  • MotoGP 2014

Popular by topic