MotoGP Aragon 2013: Ernest's chop
MotoGP Aragon 2013: Ernest's chop

Attentive, because this weekend is the penultimate GP of the 2013 season in Europe, because after the Iveco de Aragón Grand Prize we are going to have to get up early (or stay up late) for a few days until the MotoGP World Championship is held again on a European schedule. Although seeing how the season is developing, I think that more than one of us will make the effort to sleep little to watch the races.

And it is that the 2013 season is being one of those that will be remembered for a long time. Although to some the dominance of the Spanish pilots seems too much, and they even go so far as to speak of a hidden hand that favors ours. With the statistics in hand you have to take your hat off, because the Spanish pilots are practically dominating the three categories of the world championship.

On the one hand we have Jorge Lorenzo, that if he wins on the Aragonese track, he will be the third youngest rider to reach 50 grand prix victories. Standing at the height of pilots such as Valentino Rossi and Mike Hailwood. He will also enter the select group of the seven most successful pilots of all time. And it is that the Mallorcan has already equaled Casey Stoner's 69 podiums, making him the sixth rider with the most podiums in the premier class of all time. Ahead of him there are only two active riders, Dani Pedrosa who has 80 podiums and Valentino Rossi with 145.

Dani pedrosa He has also equaled Phil Read in the list of drivers with the most podiums in all categories, he now has 121 and ahead of him are only Ángel Nieto, Giacomo Agostini and Valentino Rossi. In the midst of this maelstrom of Spanish drivers there is an Italian driver who is also doing his own particular statistics. We are talking about Andrea Dovizioso, who this weekend will contest his 200th GP, becoming the youngest rider to reach that figure, beating Dani Pedrosa's record for 90 days. And the thing is that Andrea Dovizioso is so regular that in 125cc he only stopped scoring in one race. In 250cc he scored in 47 of the 49 races in which he participated and in MotoGP he has scored in 90 of the 101 races in which he started.

  • Bradley smith He has already scored 71 points, which is the second best mark for a British rider in his first season in the category since James Toseland scored 105 points in the 2008 season.

  • Friday will mark 43 years of the first World Cup race in which he participated Barry sheene. It was the 1970 Spanish GP at the Montjuic circuit. Sheene led the race a few laps and finished second behind Ángel Nieto.

  • On Monday Dominique Aegerter turns 23. The Swiss driver has scored 28 consecutive races. Having failed only one in all this time.

  • On Sunday Dani Pedrosa will be 28 years old, and on Friday Nico Terol will be 25 years old.

  • The pilots Moto3 KTM have won the last 16 races, marking the second-longest winning streak for a brand in the small category. It is only surpassed by Honda with 19 in the 1990/91 season and 17 in the 1992/93 season.

  • Jorge Lorenzo, Dani Pedrosa and Marc Márquez They have taken the podiums in the last four MotoGP races. This is the first time something like this has happened in the premier class.

  • Valentino rossi He has finished fourth in the last four MotoGP races, this situation had only occurred in 1984, when Ron Haslam also finished fourth in the premier class four times in a row.

  • When failing Yuki takahashi In the Misano race, only three riders remain who have participated in all Moto2 races since the category was introduced in 2010. They are Scott Redding, Dominique Aegerter and Simone Corsi.

  • The circuit of Motorland Aragon is one of the three circuits of the entire calendar in which Jorge Lorenzo has never won in no category. The other two circuits are Austin and Sachsenring.

  • With the participation of María Herrera as Wild Card in Aragon It will be the second time that there are two women running in the small category since in 1994 Daniela Tognoli and Tomoko Igata raced together in Jerez.

  • The Aragon circuit, along with the Austin circuit, is one of the two circuits where Yamaha has never won in the premier class.

  • In the race of 2010 MotoGP Ducati managed to put two riders on the podium for the last time. They were Casey Stoner, who won the race and Nicky Hayden who finished third.

  • Third place in last year's Moto2 race is Scott Redding's best result in all the races he has contested in Aragon.

  • Pol Espargaro he has won twice in Aragon, the first in 125cc in the 2010 season and last year in Moto2, being ahead of Marc Márquez and Scott Redding.

  • Luis Salom He won the Moto3 race last year, that race was one of the most contested in memory, with 13 riders in just 3.7 seconds to the finish line.

  • Maverick Viñales he was unable to start the 2012 race due to mechanical problems in the warm-up. He finished third in the race of the 2011 season.

  • Alex Rins, he finished sixth last year, but this year he has already won three of the last five races held.

It seems that for this weekend the weather will respect the races, the forecast of Mywheater2 says that it will be sunny, with some high clouds and an average of 25º C. Almost ideal conditions for running without burning yourself or having to take off your raincoat.

Popular by topic