MotoGP Indianapolis 2012: Ernest's chop
MotoGP Indianapolis 2012: Ernest's chop

One time finished the London 2012 OlympicsIt is time to gradually resume the usual routine. The weekend is coming and the best thing is to enjoy some races of the MotoGP World Championship, which is about time. Hopefully these are something more interesting than watching the Rhythmic Gymnastics final or the Archery events (both with all due respect). Of course, since we are in the middle of the summer heatwave, and the indianapolis grand prix (USA), we can go to the beach in the morning and watch the races with the air conditioning at home after the coming siesta.

Among the curious facts to open your mouth is that this is the fifth GP to be held on the Indiana track, and that in the previous four there has always been an American rider on the podium. Nicky Hayden finished second and third in 2008 and 2009. While Ben Spies finished second and third in 2010 and 2011. At this circuit the victories are shared equally by Yamaha and Honda, with two each. The rider who has finished on the podium the most times in Indianapolis is Jorge Lorenzo with three. And the best place on a Ducati was Nicky Hayden's third in 2009.

Well, let's go to the nougat that the statistics pass us with the heat.

  • The 106 points it has Cal crutchlow this season they surpass all that James Toseland did in the 2008 season by one point, being the best score for a British rider since the four-stroke MotoGP was established.

  • The second place of Jorge Lorenzo in Laguna Seca it is his 53rd podium in MotoGP. One less than Randy Mamola achieved in his entire career.

  • James Ellison will complete his 50th GP at IndianapolisThus being the British rider who has started the MotoGP category the most times with a four-stroke.

  • Saturday will be 16 years since Valentino Rossi got his first win in the world Cup. It was in the 125 class at the Czech Republic GP in Brno.

  • Jorge Lorenzo's pole position at Laguna Seca equaled Dani Pedrosa's 21 pole position in the category.

  • Single seven pilots of the MotoGP grid have participated in the previous four grand prizes contested in Indianapolis. Jorge Lorenzo, Randy de Puniet, Andrea Dovizioso, Colin Edwards, Valentino Rossi, Dani Pedrosa and Nicky Hayden.

  • Marc Márquez's fifth place in the Italian GP (the last Moto2 race this season) is the second worst place achieved by the Spanish rider since he arrived at Moto2. His worst result was at the Portuguese GP last year where he finished 21st after crashing and returning to the race.

  • Only three drivers have scored in all races that have been disputed in the 2012 season. Dani Pedrosa, Cal Crutchlow and Nicky Hayden.

  • Indianapolis is one of three circuits where Jorge Lorenzo has never started from pole position in any of the World Cup categories. The other two are Motorland Aragón and Valencia.

  • Since the 2011 Indianapolis GP only two riders have been able to beat Jorge Lorenzo. Casey Stoner and Dani Pedrosa when he finished the race.

  • Marc Márquez has finished sixth twice in 125 at Indianapolis, in 2010 he finished tenth due to a penalty. In 2011 he won the Moto2 race.

  • Pol Espargaró has always finished on the podium in the previous four appointments in Indianapolis. He finished second in 2008, won in 2009, and finished third in 2010 in the 125 class. In 2011 he finished second, his first podium in Moto2.

  • Nico Terol is the driver who has won the most times in Indianapolis. He won in 2008, 2010 and 2011 in the 125 category.

  • Máverick Viñales he raced at Indianapolis last year for the first time, finishing second in the 125 race. Sandro Cortese's best finish was third in 2011, just behind Máverick.

So far the statistics for this Indianapolis GP. Now we just need Sunday to arrive and we can enjoy the races.

Popular by topic