Superbikes 2012: Tom Sykes leads the first test, John Hopkins fractures a bone in his hand
Superbikes 2012: Tom Sykes leads the first test, John Hopkins fractures a bone in his hand

Last week most of the pilots who will participate arrived in Australia in the Superbikes season this 2012. The reason is none other than official tests that take place this week at the Phillip Island circuit As an aperitif before the first race of the year at the end of the month. Almost three weeks in advance, people like Carlos Checa or John Hopkins arrived to experience the southern summer and enjoy a spectacular setting. But when Monday arrived, work on the track has begun and the first victim has already been claimed.

John Hopkins, who aspires to everything with the Crescent Suzuki team, has not been able to complete a full lap after suffering a fall that has cost him a broken bone in his hand. Hopefully it is not serious and can be back soon. Let us remember that it was from a finger of this same hand that a phalanx was amputated. Leading the times table has been Tom Sykes, which seems to confirm the good form of the British rider and, why not say it, of the Kawasaki ZX10R.

In second position, but with a traced time to that of the Ninja (corrected the times), it is Carlos Checa. Phipllip Island is a track that is given to the defending champion like a charm and it seems that this year there will be no exception. Third is, for now, Eugene laverty, who we already saw more than confident in the presentation of the Aprilia team last week. Max biaggi, his teammate, is fifth to four tenths, just behind Marco Melandri with the BMW. Joan Lascorz and David Salom with Pedercini Kawasaki have been eighth-fourteenth respectively. There is a lot of work to do but we are facing the first sample of what Superbikes has in store for us this year.

First day of test:

  • 1 Tom Sykes (GB) Kawasaki 1:33, 0
  • 1 Carlos Checa (E) Althea Ducati 1:33, 3
  • 3 Eugene Laverty (IRL) Aprilia 1:33, 3
  • 4 Marco Melandri (I) BMW 1:33, 4
  • 5 Max Biaggi (I) Aprilia 1:33, 7
  • 5 Leon Haslam (GB) BMW 1:33, 7
  • 7 Jakub Smrz (CZ) Liberty Effenbert Ducati 1:34, 0
  • 8 Sylvain Guintoli Effenbert Liberty Ducati 1:34, 1
  • 8 Joan Lascorz (E) Kawasaki 1:34, 1
  • 10 Ayrton Badovini (I) BMW Italia GoldBet 1:34, 0
  • 11 Maxime Berger Effenbert Liberty Ducati 1:34, 3
  • 12 Michel Fabrizio (I) BMW Italia GoldBet 1:34, 4
  • 13 Leon Camier (GB) Crescent Fixi Suzuki 1:34, 5
  • 14 David salom (E) Pedercini Kawasaki 1:34, 9
  • 15 David Johnson (AUS) Rossair AEP BMW 1:35, 7
  • 16 Davide Giugliano (I) Althea Ducati 1:35, 8
  • 17 Lorenzo Zanetti (I) Leg Ducati 1:37, 1

Popular by topic